top of page


A community school is a place and a set of partnerships between the school, community-based organizations, and other resources.  Schools become centers of the community -- open to children, parents, and community members before, during, and after the school day.  Community schools do not follow a specific program; they represent a shared strategy among partners and stakeholders to promote improved student learning, stronger families, and healthier communities.


Students are not immune to stress.  Every day Delaware children arrive to school carrying a backpack of experiences ranging from witnessing community violence to food insecurity.

Our Community Schools program is founded on partnerships with school districts, families and community partners to support Delaware children so that they arrive at school healthy, energized, and prepared to learn.  By coordinating resources with our partners, children's basic needs and opportunities for expanded enrichment and learning are supported.

Our Community Schools program currently serves more than 3,000 students in Red Clay Consolidated School District (Warner Elementary School, Shortlidge Elementary School), Christina School District (The Bancroft School, The Bayard School, Pulaski Early Education Center, Stubbs Early Education Center), Brandywine School District (Harlan Elementary School, Mount Pleasant High School), and Colonial School District (McCullough Middle School).

For more information or to learn how to get involved, contact:

Nnamdi Chukwuocha, Program Manager at 302-777-9790 or via email.

bottom of page